What is Premier League Darts?

Premier League Darts is an annual PDC tournament that was founded in 2005. It is not one of the seven ranked majors, but is one of six non-ranking television tournaments.

When does Premier League Darts start?

Premier League matches take place every Thursday night between February and May.

Where is Premier League Darts played?

Premier League matches are played in different locations around the United Kingdom, Ireland and Europe each week.

Who takes part in Premier League Darts?

The top four players in the world qualify automatically. The PDC then give wildcards to five more players. 

For the 2020 season, these players were then joined by a different 'challenger' who competed against one of the regulars. 

What is the format of Premier League Darts?

The Premier League season usually takes place over 17 nights.

The players and challengers face each other in a best-of-12-legs format during the first nine rounds. Regular players are awarded two points for a win and one for a draw. The player who is bottom of the table after nine matches is eliminated.

The remaining eight regular players then play each other again in a best-of-14-legs format during the next seven weeks, with the top four qualifying for the play-offs at the O2 Arena.

On the final night, first plays fourth and second plays third in two best-of-19-legs semi-finals. The two winners then play each other in a best-of-21 legs final.

Can I watch Premier League Darts on television?

All Premier League matches are televised live on Sky Sports.

How much is the Premier League Darts prize money?

The total prize pool for 2020 is £825,000, with £25,000 being awarded to the player who finishes top of the table at the end of the regular season.

The winner of the play-offs will earn £250,000 and the runner-up £120,000, with the two losing semi-finalists awarded £80,000 each.

The rest will be split incrementally all the way down to the player eliminated in ninth, who takes home £35,000.

Who won Premier League Darts in 2019?

The defending champion is Michael van Gerwen, who has five titles (2019, 2018, 2017, 2016, 2013) having won the tournament for the last four years in a row and finished top of the table in seven consecutive season.

Phil Taylor is the tournament's most successful player with six titles (2005, 2006, 2007, 2008, 2010, 2012).

Gary Anderson has won it twice (2011, 2015) while James Wade (2009) and Raymond van Barneveld (2013) have both won one each.

Visit Betway's darts betting page.