What is the World Cup of Darts?

The World Cup of Darts is an annual PDC tournament that was founded in 2010. It is the sport's only major international tournament where players, who compete in pairs, represent their country rather than themselves.

When does it take place?

The tournament usually takes place across four days from Thursday to Sunday at the start of June, though the 2020 edition was held in November.

Where is it played?

The first tournament in 2010 was hosted in England. Since 2012, when the World Cup became an annual event, it has been played in Germany. The 2020 tournament was held in Salzburg, Austria.

Who takes part?

A total of 32 countries take part, based on the cumulative PDC ranking points of their best two players.

The top eight countries will be seeded, and so kept apart in the draw, with the other 24 unseeded.

What is the format?

The World Cup of Darts is a straight knockout tournament, with the first-round matches a best-of-nine-legs format. These are played in doubles, whereby all players take part in every leg of the match by taking it in turns to visit the oche.

The second round, quarter- and semi-finals consist of two best-of-seven singles matches. Each country can choose the order in which their players are sent out and, in the event of a tie, play a best-of-seven doubles match as a decider.

The final starts with two best-of-seven singles matches, followed by a best-of-seven doubles match and, if necessary, two more best-of-seven singles matches in reverse order. The first country to win three matches is crowned the winner.

Can I watch it on television?

The tournament is broadcast live on Sky Sports.

What is the prize for winning?

The total prize pot for the 2020 World Cup of Darts was £350,000, with £70,000 going to the winners and £40,000 to the runners-up.

Who are the previous winners?

The reigning champions are Wales after Gerwyn Price and Jonny Clayton won the 2020 edition by beating England in the final.

England and Netherlands are the joint-most successful nations having won four World Cups each.

Phil Taylor, Adrian Lewis and Raymond van Barneveld hold the joint individual record for most World Cups won with four.

The only other country to win the World Cup is Scotland, after Gary Anderson and Peter Wright beat Ireland in the 2019 final. 

Visit Betway's darts betting page.