Football Football
Horse Racing Horse Racing
Cricket Cricket
Basketball Basketball
Golf Golf

World Grand Prix darts explained: When, where, who, format

24 Sep | BY Betway | MIN READ TIME |
World Grand Prix darts explained: When, where, who, format

Who takes part? What is the format? Can I watch it on television? And how much do you get for winning? Our tournament guide explains all.

What is the World Grand Prix?

The World Grand Prix is an annual PDC tournament that was founded in 1998. It is the fourth of seven ranked majors during the year and the third-longest running televised event in the calendar.

When does it take place?

The tournament takes place over seven days across the first two weekends in October. 

Where is it played?

The World Grand Prix has been staged in the Convention Centre at the Citywest Hotel in Dublin since 2001. However, the 2020 edition will take place behind closed doors at the Ricoh Arena in Coventry.

Who takes part?

The field of 32 is made up of the top 16 players on the PDC Order of Merit, the first eight of whom are seeded, and the top 16 players from the ProTour Order of Merit who have not already qualified via the PDC Order of Merit.

What is the format?

The World Grand Prix is the only double-start tournament in the PDC calendar, whereby players must both start and finish on a double (or bullseye).

It is a straight knockout tournament with a set-play format, where each set is contested over the best of five legs.

First-round matches are the best of three sets, with second-round matches and the quarter-finals the best of five sets. Semi-finals are then the best of seven before the final, which is the best of nine sets.

Can I watch it on television?

The entire tournament is broadcast live on Sky Sports.

What is the prize for winning?

The total prize pot for the 2019 tournament was a record £450,000, with £110,000 going to the winner and £50,000 going to the runner-up.

Who are the previous winners?

Phil Taylor is the most-successful player in the tournament’s history, having won 11 titles before retiring in 2017.

Michael van Gerwen is the reigning champion after winning his fifth title in 2019.

Other previous winners are Daryl Gurney (2017), Robert Thornton (2015), James Wade (2010 and 2007), Colin Lloyd (2004) and Alan Warriner (2001). 

Visit Betway’s darts betting page.