What is the World Matchplay?

The World Matchplay is the PDC's second-longest running darts tournament, having been first staged in 1994. It is the third of seven ranked majors during the calendar year.

When does it take place?

The tournament takes place over nine days between the final two weekends in July. 

Where is it played?

Since its inception, the World Matchplay has been hosted in the Empress Ballroom at the Winter Gardens in Blackpool. However, the 2020 tournament was played behind closed doors at the Marshall Arena in Milton Keynes. 

Who takes part?

The field of 32 is made up of the top 16 players in the PDC Order of Merit at the end of June and the top 16 players on the ProTour Order of Merit who have not already qualified via the PDC Order of Merit.

What is the format?

The 16 seeded players to qualify through the PDC Order of Merit are drawn against the 16 unseeded ProTour qualifiers.

First-round matches are first to 10 legs, with second-round matches the first to 11. The quarter-finals are first to 16 legs, with the semis first to 17 and the final first to 18.

Can I watch it on television?

The entire tournament is broadcast live on Sky Sports.

What is the prize for winning?

The total prize pot for the 2020 tournament wass £700,000, with £150,000 going to the winner and £70,000 to the runner-up.

Who are the previous winners?

Dimitri van den Bergh is the reigning champion after beating Gary Anderson in the 2020 final.

Phil Taylor is the most-successful player in the tournament’s history having won 16 titles before retiring in 2017.

Michael van Gerwen has two, as does Rod Harrington, while six other players (Larry Butler, Peter Evison, Colin Lloyd, Gary Anderson, James Wade and Rob Cross) have won one each.

Visit Betway's darts betting page.