Football Football
Horse Racing Horse Racing
Cricket Cricket
Basketball Basketball
Golf Golf

Grand Slam of Darts explained: Who takes part, format, TV

05 Nov | BY Betway | MIN READ TIME |
Grand Slam of Darts explained: Who takes part, format, TV

Who takes part? What is the format? Can I watch it on television? And how much do you get for winning? Our tournament guide explains all.

What is the Grand Slam of Darts?

The Grand Slam of Darts is an annual PDC tournament that, since 2015, has been classified as one of seven ranked majors in the calendar year.

When is it?

The Grand Slam takes place over nine days in November, usually straddling the second and third weekends of the month.

Where is it played?

The Grand Slam of Darts has been played in Wolverhampton since its inception in 2007, though the 2020 edition will be played behind closed doors at the Ricoh Arena.

Who takes part?

Sixteen players make the cut based on their performances in PDC events during the previous 12 months. The winners of the seven ranked majors and six non-ranking tournaments all automatically qualify, with the remaining spots then going to the runners-up in the same events.

Eight representatives from the BDO are then invited based on their performances during the year.

Finally, the eight remaining spots are awarded at the Grand Slam of Darts Qualifier, which takes place during the week the tournament starts and is open to all PDC Tour Card Holders who have not already qualified for the event.

What is the format?

The 32 players are split into eight groups of four, with the top-eight ranked players in the PDC’s Order of Merit seeded in separate groups.

They are each joined by one BDO representative, drawn randomly, with the 16 remaining players also being assigned groups based on a random draw.

Every player in each group will play each other in a round-robin, best-of-nine-legs format, with the top two qualifying for the second round in a seeded bracket.

Second-round matches are best of 19 legs, with the quarters, semis and final all best of 31 legs.

Can I watch it on television?

The entire tournament is broadcast live on Sky Sports.

What is the prize for winning?

The total prize pot for the 2020 tournament is £550,000, with £125,000 going to the winner and £65,000 to the runner-up.

Who are the previous winners?

Gerwyn Price is the back-to-back champion after successfully defending his 2018 title. Michael van Gerwen had won it three years in a row before that, while Phil Taylor won six of the first eight editions.

The only other players to lift the trophy are Scott Waites (2010) and Raymond van Barneveld (2012).

Visit Betway’s darts betting page.