What is the European Championship?

The European Championship is an annual PDC tournament that was founded in 2008. It is one of seven ranked majors to take place over the course of the year.

When is it?

The tournament traditionally takes place over the last weekend of October. 

Where is it played?

Other than 2009, when it was hosted in Hoofddorp, the Netherlands, the European Championship has always been played in Germany. 

Who takes part?

The top 32 players in the European Tour Order of Merit, which is based on prize money amassed in the 13 European Tour events over the course of the season.

What is the format?

The 32 players are drawn in a fixed bracket by their seeded order, with No. 1 playing No. 32, No. 2 playing No. 31, etc.

First-round matches are the best of 11 legs, the second round and quarter-finals are the best of 19 legs, and the semi-finals and final the best of 21 legs.

Can I watch it on television?

The entire tournament is broadcast live on the ITV4.

What is the prize for winning?

The total prize pot for the 2019 tournament was £500,000, with £120,000 going to the winner and £60,000 to the runner-up.

Who are the previous winners?

Rob Cross is the current champion after beating Gerwyn Price in the 2019 final.

James Wade won it in 2018, ending Michael van Gerwen's run of four consecutive titles between 2014 and 2017. Phil Taylor won the first four editions, while Simon Whitlock (2012) and Adrian Lewis (2013) have also lifted the trophy.

Visit Betway's darts betting page.