Football Football
Horse Racing Horse Racing
Cricket Cricket
Basketball Basketball
Golf Golf

Champions League of Darts explained: Format, prizes, dates

15 Oct | BY Betway | MIN READ TIME |
Champions League of Darts explained: Format, prizes, dates

Who takes part? What is the format? Can I watch it on television? And how much do you get for winning? Our tournament guide explains all.

What is the Champions League of Darts?

The Champions League of Darts is an annual PDC tournament that was founded in 2016. It is not one of the seven ranked majors but is one of six non-ranking television tournaments.

When does it take place?

The first three editions took place in September, though the 2019 tournament was held over the weekend of 19-20 October. The 2020 tournament was cancelled.

Where is it played?

The tournament has moved around since its inception.

The first two were played at the Motorpoint Arena in Cardiff, the 2018 tournament was held at the Brighton Centre and the 2019 version was held at the Morningside Arena in Leicester.

Who takes part?

The top eight players in the world according to the PDC Order of Merit.

What is the format?

The eight qualifiers are divided into two groups, with every player facing each other once in a round-robin, best-of-19-legs format.

The winner of Group A then plays the runner-up of Group B and vice versa in two best-of-21-leg semi-finals, before the two winners contest a best-of-21-leg final.

Can I watch it on television?

The entire tournament is broadcast live on the BBC.

What is the prize for winning?

The total prize pot for the 2019 tournament was £250,000, with £100,000 going to the winner and £50,000 going to the runner-up.

Who are the previous winners?

To date, the Champions League has had a different winner every year, with Michael van Gerwen winning the 2019 edition.

Phil Taylor won the inaugural tournament in 2016, while Mensur Suljovic beat Gary Anderson in 2017. Anderson then went one better by beating compatriot Peter Wright in 2018.

Visit Betway’s darts betting page.