What are the Players Championship Finals?

The Players Championship Finals is an annual PDC tournament that was founded in 2009. It is one of seven ranked majors that are played during the calendar year.

When is it?

The Finals are played over three days, Friday to Sunday, across the last full weekend in November.

Where is it played?

The tournament has been hosted at Butlin’s in Minehead, Somerset, since 2012.

Who takes part?

Prior to the Finals, a total of 30 Players Championship events take place between February and October in Wigan, Barnsley, Hildesheim and Dublin.

The top 64 players in the Players Championship Order of Merit at the end of these 30 events are all invited to take part in the Finals.

What is the format?

The 64 players are seeded in order of their finishing positions in the Players Championship Order of Merit.

They then play each other in a fixed bracket, with the No. 1 seed playing No. 64, No. 2 playing No. 63, etc.

First-round and second-round matches are the best of 11 legs, with the third round and quarter-finals the best of 19 legs. Semi-finals and the final are best of 21 legs.

Can I watch it on television?

The tournament is broadcast live on ITV4.

What is the prize for winning?

The total prize pot for the 2019 tournament was £500,000, with £100,000 going to the winner and £50,000 to the runner-up.

Who are the previous winners?

Michael van Gerwen is the most-successful player in the tournament’s history having won five titles (2013, 2015, 2016, 2017, 2019) – two more than Phil Taylor (2009, February 2011, 2012).

Other players to lift the trophy are Daryl Gurney (2018), Gary Anderson (2014), Kevin Painter (December 2011) and Paul Nicholson (2010).

Visit Betway's darts betting page.