Captain: Sachin Tendulkar

Key players: Virender Sehwag, Yuvraj Singh, Irfan Pathan

India are favourites to win this competition, and it’s clear to see why.

Not only will conditions and home support suit the hosts, but they possess two or three players who are bound to be dangerous.

Yuvraj Singh held out hope of featuring in India’s 2019 World Cup squad before retiring a few months later after missing out. He considered a return to the domestic game in 2020, too, so he is bound to be in decent enough condition to make a big difference with bat and ball.

Virender Sehwag is the favourite to be the tournament’s top run-scorer. His swashbuckling style was always based on a strong eye, so he may be less affected by a period of inactivity than others.


Captain: Kevin Pietersen

Key players: Jonathan Trott, Owais Shah, Monty Panesar

It is a surprise to see England rated as second-favourites, considering that several members of their squad haven’t represented the national team for around a decade and were only ever bit-part players.

Naturally, we are backing one of their greatest ever batsmen and current Betway ambassador Kevin Pietersen to go well in this competition. He is available at to be the highest run-scorer, and is another who will not have lost his natural talent.

Jonathan Trott, who has filled in as the first team’s batting coach this winter, will also be in decent nick, while Monty Panesar is bound to have some success in spin-friendly conditions.

The likes of Kabir Ali, Usman Afzaal and Chris Schofield, however, are a long time retired and were hardly regular internationals in their heyday.


Captain: Tillakaratne Dilshan

Key players: Ajantha Mendis, Rangana Herath, Sanath Jayasuriya,

Sri Lanka are among the favourites to win the Road Safety World Series, with several of their best ever players set to feature in the tournament.

Captained by Tillakaratne Dilshan, who looks a good shout for top run-scorer at , the Lions will resume the competition with one win from their two games that went ahead last year.

Also set to feature are legendary spin duo Rangana Herath and Ajantha Mendis, with Sanath Jayasuriya and Upul Tharanga providing the batting firepower.

Other big names in their squad include Farveez Maharoof, Russel Arnold and Nuwan Kulasekara, so Sri Lanka definitely have the personnel to trouble favourites India.


Captain: Jonty Rhodes

Key players: Alviro Petersen, Morne van Wyk, Makhaya Ntini

We can be sure about one element of a team led by Jonty Rhodes: they will be superb in the field.

Though Rhodes is 20 years retired, his reputation as a brilliant fielder remains, and he was Kings XI Punjab fielding coach during the IPL 2020.

Though there does not seem to be as much quality in the South Africa squad as in others, being strong in the field could be enough to at least justify their status as fourth-favourites.

Alviro Petersen, who played 57 internationals, will have a big part to play with the bat and is to be the top run-scorer.

It will also be intriguing to see whether Makhaya Ntini can roll back the years with the ball.


Captain: Brian Lara

Key players: Dwayne Smith, Sulieman Benn, Tino Best

Despite being led by Brian Lara, the West Indies come into the Road Safety World Series as one of the outsiders to win at .

Not only have the Windies lost Shivnarine Chanderpaul, Ramnaresh Sarwan and Darren Ganga since last year, they also lost both of their games that took place in 2020.

Their hopes look likely to rest with Lara, although they do have proven T20 performers in Dwayne Smith and Sulieman Benn.


Captain: Mohammed Rafique

Key Players: Abdur Razzak, Khaled Mahmud, Khaled Mashud

Bangladesh are one of two new sides added to the tournament this year, following Australia’s decision to withdraw due to travel restrictions.

They will head into the Road Safety World Series as rank outsiders, being priced up at to win the competition.

Led by all-rounder Mohammed Rafique, the Bangladesh team will also feature two former captains: Khaled Mashud and Khaled Mahmud.


Sri Lanka to win the tournament

Kevin Pietersen to be the top run-scorer in the tournament

Visit Betway's cricket betting page.