Where is it taking place?

Due to travel restrictions, all eight BBL franchises will be based in Tasmania or Canberra at the start of the tournament.

The first group of matches will take place at the Blundstone Arena in Hobart, the UTAS Stadium in Launceston and the Manuka Oval in Canberra.

The competition will then expand into Queensland and South Australia, with matches at the Gabba, the Metricon Stadium and the Adelaide Oval.

Depending on changes in government restrictions, BBL organisers then hope to schedule games in Perth, Melbourne and Sydney.

When is it taking place?

BBL 10 starts on 10 December 2020, with the final set to take place on 6 February 2021.

Who is taking part?

This edition of the BBL will feature all eight of the usual franchises: Adelaide Strikers, Brisbane Heat, Hobart Hurricanes, Melbourne Renegades, Melbourne Stars, Perth Scorchers, Sydney Sixers and Sydney Thunder.

How does it work?

The first phase of the Big Bash is a round-robin league tournament in which each team plays each other twice.

The top five teams at the end of the group stage then progress to the Finals.

The fourth and fifth-placed sides first face off in the Eliminator, with the winner going on to face the third-placed side in the Knock-Out game.

The first and second-placed sides play each other in the Qualifier, with the winner advancing to the final and the loser getting another shot in the Challenger against the team that won the Knock-Out.

The winner of the Qualifier and the winner of the Challenger then play in the Final to determine the winner of the tournament.

What are the new rules?

The BBL has introduced three new rules this year, designed to add even more excitement to the tournament.

Firstly, the six-over Powerplay at the beginning of each innings has been shortened to four. The batting side will instead be able to call for a two-over ‘Power Surge’ at any point from the 11th over onwards.

Teams will also be allowed to name an ‘X-Factor’ player, who can be substituted into the match at any point beyond the 10th over of the first innings. The player being replaced cannot have batted or bowled more than one over.

The points system has also been changed this year, with three points awarded for a win instead of two. There is also a fourth point available – called the ‘Bash Boost’ – which is awarded to the team who are ahead at the 10-over mark of the chase. 

Will spectators be allowed?

Spectators will be present at the start of BBL 10, although capacity will be limited.

Tasmanian venues will be allowed to fill to 50 per cent capacity, while the Manuka Oval in Canberra will be allowed 65 per cent.

Capacity limits at other venues are yet to be decided, but are likely to follow a similar pattern.

Team-by-team guide:


BBL 09: 4th (3rd in group stage)

Coach: Jason Gillespie

Captain: Travis Head

Star players: Rashid Khan, Alex Carey, Matt Renshaw

The Strikers won their first title in the 2017/18 edition of the tournament, and made the Finals last year, eventually finishing fourth after elimination in the Knock-Out.

They have lost Billy Stanlake to the Stars for this year’s tournament, but the retention of Afghanistan leg-spinner Rashid Khan is a huge coup.


BBL 09: 7th

Coach: Darren Lehmann

Captain: Chris Lynn

Star players: Dan Lawrence, Mujeeb ur Rahman, Morne Morkel

The Heat haven’t reached the Finals stage since 2016/17, and won their only BBL title way back in 2012/13.

They were dealt a blow before the start of the tournament as star overseas batsman, Tom Banton, pulled out, but replacement Dan Lawrence is a solid signing.


BBL 09: 5th (4th in group stage)

Coach:  Adam Griffith

Captain: Matthew Wade

Star players: Peter Handscomb, Dawid Malan, D’Arcy Short

The Hurricanes have reached the Finals stage for three-straight seasons, but remain without a BBL title.

Their strong batting lineup – including Matthew Wade, D’Arcy Short and Dawid Malan – could see them challenge for that elusive title this time round.


BBL 09: 8th

Coach: Michael Klinger

Captain: Aaron Finch

Star players: Mohammad Nabi, James Pattinson, Imran Tahir

The Renegades won their first title in BBL 08 in 2018/19, but finished bottom of the table last year.

Some significant squad turnover this year makes them an interesting prospect, though, with the acquisitions of Imran Tahir and Imad Wasim particularly encouraging.


BBL 09: Runners-up (1st in group stage)

Coach: David Hussey

Captain: Glenn Maxwell

Star players: Marcus Stoinis, Adam Zampa, Nicholas Pooran

The Stars absolutely dominated the group stages last year before falling short in the final, but they will inevitably challenge again this year.

The signings of Billy Stanlake and Nicholas Pooran strengthen their already-brilliant squad, which also includes Australia stars Marcus Stoinis, Adam Zampa, Nathan Coulter-Nile and Glenn Maxwell.


BBL 09: 6th

Coach: Adam Voges

Captain: Mitchell Marsh

Star players: Colin Munro, Jason Roy, Andrew Tye

Perth are the most successful team in BBL history with three titles, but failed to make the Finals last season.

They have made some strong signings as they look for a fourth title, though, including England star Jason Roy and New Zealand veteran Colin Munro, who will form a new-look opening pair.


BBL 09: Champions (2nd in group stage)

Coach: Greg Shipperd

Captain: Moises Henriques

Star players: Jason Holder, Mitchell Starc, Nathan Lyon

The Sixers shocked the Stars in last year’s final to win their second BBL title, and look strong again this year.

Carlos Brathwaite and Dan Christian are shrewd acquisitions, although they have lost England all-rounder Tom Curran, who starred for them last season.


BBL 09: 3rd (5th in group stage)

Coach: Shane Bond

Captain: Callum Ferguson

Star players: Usman Khawaja, Sam Billings, Ben Cutting

The Thunder did well to make the Challenger match last season after scraping into the Finals in fifth place.

The signing of Ben Cutting will strengthen their middle-order hitting, while England stars Alex Hales and Sam Billings should also play key roles.

Visit Betway's cricket betting page.