Melbourne Stars to win the Big Bash

In terms of consistency, the Stars are the best team in Big Bash history – but they have never won the competition.

They have missed out on the play-offs just once in nine years, and won the league stage last season only to lose a 12-over shoot-out in the final.

A maiden title must arrive soon and with Marcus Stoinis, Glenn Maxwell, Nicholas Pooran and Adam Zampa all fit and firing, this could finally be their year.

Brisbane Heat to finish bottom in the Big Bash

Brisbane, on the other hand, are perhaps the least successful team, having missed out on the play-offs in seven of the nine campaigns and never won the competition.

They have finished seventh, fifth and seventh in the last three seasons, so look likely to be in the running for bottom place this time around.

Marnus Labuschagne is a big name, but is yet to prove himself in T20 cricket, so too much of the burden looks set to fall on Chris Lynn, who spent two months carrying the drinks during the IPL.

Ben Laughlin is the leading wicket-taker in the history of the competition, but – at the age of 38 – his best days are behind him.

D’Arcy Short to be the Big Bash top run-scorer

There is little point looking outside of the favourites for this one, with D’Arcy Short (twice) and Marcus Stoinis scooping the prize in the last three seasons.

Short was not such an established name when he won in 2018, but backed it up with an even better runs haul the following year, while Stoinis – also an established international – was sensational in 2019/20.

Of the two, Short – who is likely to open the innings for Hobart Hurricanes – is our preferred bet.

It will also be intriguing to see whether world No. 1 Dawid Malan can convert his extraordinary international form into franchise performances for Hobart Hurricanes.

Daniel Sams to be the Big Bash top wicket-taker

This prize has gone to a seamer in eight of the nine Big Bash campaigns, with seven of them an Australian.

And last year’s winner, Sams, looks a good bet again for the Sydney Sixers, with so many of Australia’s star bowlers taking little or no part in the tournament.

He was involved in Australia’s recent T20 series with India, and featured for Delhi Capitals in the IPL, despite not enjoying lots of success.

Visit Betway's cricket betting page.