Football Football
Horse Racing Horse Racing
Cricket Cricket
Basketball Basketball
Golf Golf

IPL 2020 guide and preview

With the 2020 Indian Premier League finally set to kick off, here is your complete guide to the 13th edition of the tournament.

04 Sep | BY Guy Giles | MIN READ TIME |
IPL 2020 guide and preview

Where is it taking place?

The 2020 Indian Premier League, also known as IPL 13, is taking place in the United Arab Emirates.

Matches will take place at three grounds: Dubai International Cricket Stadium in Dubai, Sharjah Cricket Stadium in Sharjah and the Sheikh Zayed Cricket Stadium in Abu Dhabi.

When is it taking place?

IPL 13 begins on Saturday 19 September, with the final set to take place on Tuesday 10 November.

Who is taking part?

There has been no change in teams from the 2019 edition of the IPL, with eight franchises set to take part: Chennai Super Kings, Delhi Capitals, Kings XI Punjab, Kolkata Knight Riders, Mumbai Indians, Rajasthan Royals, Royal Challengers Bangalore and Sunrisers Hyderabad.

Mumbai Indians are the defending champions, having won their fourth title last year.

How does it work?

The IPL begins with a round-robin league phase in which every team plays each other twice.

When the league stage is concluded, the top four teams enter the playoffs.

The first and second-placed sides meet in Qualifier 1, with the winner going straight to the final and the loser getting another chance in Qualifier 2.

The third and fourth-placed sides then face off in the Eliminator match. The loser of the Eliminator is out and the winner progresses to Qualifer 2.

The loser of Qualifier 1 and the winner of the Eliminator then play in Qualifier 2 to determine the other finalist.

The two remaining sides then face off in the final, with the winner declared IPL champions.

If you are looking for IPL betting tips, check the Betway Insider throughout the tournament for the latest predictions. 

Will spectators be allowed?

The Emirates Cricket Board has stated its intention to fill grounds up to 50% of their maximum capacity.

They are, however, still waiting on approval from the UAE government for this plan to go ahead.


IPL 12: Runners-up

Coach: Stephen Fleming

Captain: MS Dhoni

Star players: Ravi Jadeja, Imran Tahir, Dwayne Bravo

Chennai Super Kings are one of the most successful teams in IPL history, having won three titles and reached eight finals in just 10 appearances in the tournament.

They finished runners-up last season so will be looking to go one better, with the additions of Sam Curran, Piyush Chawla and Josh Hazlewood looking like shrewd business.


IPL 12: 3rd

Coach: Ricky Ponting

Captain: Shreyas Iyer

Star players: Ravi Ashwin, Shimron Hetmyer, Rishabh Pant

Delhi are the only current IPL franchise to never reach a final, although they ended a seven-year wait for a playoff spot last season, eventually finishing third.

They have made some big moves in the market this year, bringing in Kings XI Punjab captain Ravi Ashwin and also splashing out on West Indies star Shimron Hetmyer.


IPL 12: 6th

Coach: Anil Kumble

Captain: KL Rahul

Star players: Glenn Maxwell, Chris Gayle, Sheldon Cottrell

Kings XI are seeking their maiden IPL title in the UAE, with the Mohali-based side having reached the playoffs just twice in 12 seasons.

Coached by India legend Anil Kumble, Punjab have made some strong additions to both their batting and bowling for IPL 13, with Glenn Maxwell and Sheldon Cottrell costing big money.


IPL 12: 5th

Coach: Brendon McCullum

Captain: Dinesh Karthik

Star players: Pat Cummins, Sunil Narine, Andre Russell

Two-time champions Kolkata failed to make the playoffs last season and have not won the tournament since their triumph in 2014.

They have tried to rectify that this year with some massive spending, making Australian pacer Pat Cummins the most expensive overseas player in IPL history while also signing England captain Eoin Morgan and rising star Tom Banton.


IPL 12: Winners

Coach: Mahela Jayawardene

Captain: Rohit Sharma

Star players: Kieron Pollard, Chris Lynn, Jasprit Bumrah

Mumbai became the most successful team in IPL history last season as they captured their fourth title with a thrilling one-run victory over Chennai.

The Indians have retained all of their stars from last season while adding the likes of Chris Lynn, Trent Boult and Nathan Coulter-Nile to put them in a strong position to defend their title in the UAE.


IPL 12: 7th

Coach: Andrew McDonald

Captain: Steve Smith

Star players: Ben Stokes, Jofra Archer, Jos Buttler

Rajasthan Royals were the winners of the inaugural IPL in 2008 but have been starved of success since, making the playoffs just three more times in the ensuing years.

Captained by former Australia skipper Steve Smith, the Royals are packed with overseas talent including England stars Ben Stokes, Jos Buttler and Jofra Archer.


IPL 12: 8th

Coach: Simon Katich

Captain: Virat Kohli

Star players: AB de Villiers, Aaron Finch, Dale Steyn

The Royal Challengers are the perennial underachievers of IPL cricket, with the Bangalore franchise reaching three finals without winning the competition.

They had a particularly poor campaign last season, finishing bottom of the table, but the continued presence of Virat Kohli and AB de Villiers alongside some smart acquisitions puts them in a good position for IPL 13.


IPL 12: 4th

Coach: Trevor Bayliss

Captain: David Warner

Star players: Kane Williamson, Rashid Khan, Bhuvneshwar Kumar

Since their formation in 2013, Sunrisers have reached the playoffs in five of their seven seasons, winning the title in 2016 and finishing as runners-up two years later.

They boast a particularly strong bowling attack with the likes of Rashid Khan and Bhuvneshwar Kumar, but also pose a threat with the bat thanks to skipper David Warner, England’s Jonny Bairstow and New Zealand captain Kane Williamson. 

Visit Betway’s cricket betting and IPL betting pages.

Guy Giles

Guy Giles

Sports writer who is responsible for the Insider's cricket, rugby, tennis and UFC betting content, as well as football betting tips.

Guy Giles

Guy Giles

Sports writer who is responsible for the Insider's cricket, rugby, tennis and UFC betting content, as well as football betting tips.