Football Football
Horse Racing Horse Racing
Cricket Cricket
Basketball Basketball
Golf Golf

Which players took the Rugby World Cup by storm to earn a spot in our Tournament XV?

04 Nov | BY Betway | MIN READ TIME |
Which players took the Rugby World Cup by storm to earn a spot in our Tournament XV?

The selection process was strenuous but the shirts have now been assigned - here's our dream team from the greatest tournament in history

As the dust settles on an unforgettable Rugby World Cup, there is just one more set of awards to give out – the prized jerseys in our Tournament XV.

Despite having nobody feature in our Pool Stage XV following an unspectacular group phase, New Zealand stormed into form during the knock-out stages in becoming the first side to ever retain the Webb Ellis trophy.

Unsurprisingly, the All Blacks boast six players in the team of the tournament, with beaten finalists Australia contributing four.

Conquered semi-finalists South Africa and Argentina, meanwhile, share another four.

But who takes the final spot, and how do our cream of the crop line up?

Here is our Rugby World Cup 2015 Tournament XV:

1. Scott Sio (Australia)

 The loose-head has provided the primary impetus in restoring the Australian scrum into a reliable platform from which they have been able to excel. Terrorised England and was sorely missed against Argentina through injury.

2. Agustin Creevy (Argentina)

 The Pumas’ captain in both the tight and loose simply confirmed his position as the most effective hooker in the world. A great shame that injury did not allow him to make more of an impression on the semi-final having done so much to lead his team to the last four.

3. Ramiro Herrera (Argentina)

 Did not allow recent surgery on a knee ligament injury to hinder his effectiveness in the scrum, outshining his much-decorated front-row colleague Marcos Ayerza. The pressure he put James Slipper – Australia’s most-capped prop – under in the semi-final is proof of how much he can go on to achieve.

4. Eben Etzebeth (South Africa)

His decisive try in the third-place play-off against Argentina was the perfect reward for an outstanding tournament after becoming first choice for the Springboks’ following their defeat to Japan. With 44 caps having only just turned 24, there will be plenty more to come from him at the World Cup.etzebeth5. Brodie Retallick (New Zealand)

Continues to redefine the expectations of those who play in his position. Stole the joint-highest number of lineouts with his agility in the air, while his charge-down and race to the line to kick off the rout against France showed the extent of his devastating athleticism.

6. Scott Fardy (Australia)

Quietly went about his business at blind-side, making more tackles (62) than either Michael Hooper or David Pocock to give his back-row colleagues the opportunity to steal the limelight by turning the ball over. Easily the unsung hero of the tournament.

7. Richie McCaw (New Zealand)

Captain and leader of the side who confirmed their status as the greatest in rugby history by becoming the first to ever retain the World Cup. His Test record of 131 wins from 148 matches will surely never be beaten – and he may not even be finished just yet.

8. David Pocock (Australia)

The stand-out player of the tournament who has proven himself beyond all doubt to be the most complete back-row forward in the world. Having single-handedly claimed 17 turnovers, nobody can rival his ability to scavenge opposition ball.tournament-xv9. Gareth Davies (Wales)

The injury to Rhys Webb before the tournament began was treated as a national disaster, but the scrum-half proved himself to be a revelation in his absence. His five tries – including the pivotal score against England – was more than any other player not stationed on the wing.  

10. Dan Carter (New Zealand)

Having missed the 2011 final through injury, the fly-half ended his remarkable career on a high after being named as World Player of the Year two days after lifting the trophy. His 40-metre drop goal to turn the tide in the final exemplified the composure that sees him bow out as the all-time record Test point scorer.

11. Julian Savea (New Zealand)

Tournament top try scorer with eight, taking his Test tally to a scarcely-believable 38 tries in 41 matches. His quarter-final hat-trick against France proved comparisons with the great Jonah Lomu are more than justified.

12. Ma’a Nonu (New Zealand)

The shining light in a midfield partnership with Conrad Smith that will go down as the greatest of all time both in terms of longevity and achievement. Fitting that he marked his last appearance for the All Blacks with a try in the final that showcased his strength, speed and power.nonu13. Tevita Kuridrani (Australia)

The outstanding No. 13 of the tournament who provided the vital link between the creativity of Bernard Foley and Matt Giteau inside him and the finishing ability of Drew Mitchell and Adam Ashley-Cooper outside. Contributed some vital tries of his own in the quarter-final against Scotland and to set up a grandstand finish to the final.

14. Nehe Milner-Skudder (New Zealand)

Averaged a try per game, finishing second in the scoring stakes with a total of six. Came into the tournament a relative unknown with just two caps, but leaves having confirmed himself as one of the most lethal finishers in the sport thanks to his raw speed and devastating step.

15. Joaquin Tuculet (Argentina)

His colleagues Juan Imhoff and Santiago Cordero enjoyed more attention, but Argentina’s free-running style that lit up the World Cup began at the very back with Tuculet. A devastating runner whose admirable finish against Ireland confirmed a second semi-final appearance for the South Americans.

READ: Alex Spink: Why we will not quickly forget the 2015 Rugby World Cup

READ: Who takes gold, silver and bronze in our all-time Rugby World Cup final moments?