Football Football
Horse Racing Horse Racing
Cricket Cricket
Basketball Basketball
Golf Golf

Which is the best team in the IPL? | Best IPL teams

09 Mar | BY Betway | MIN READ TIME |
Which is the best team in the IPL? | Best IPL teams

Which is the best IPL team? From the most titles to the biggest victories, we look at which is the best team in IPL history.

Check out the Betway Insider’s cricket betting tips page for best bets throughout the 2023 IPL. 

Most IPL titles

In terms of IPL titles, Mumbai Indians are well clear as the greatest side in the history of the competition.

The Indians have won the title in five of the 15 campaigns, with Rohit Sharma leading them to each of their successes.

Remarkably, Mumbai did not win any of the first five IPLs, only claiming their first title in 2013. That means that they have won more than half of the IPL campaigns since then.

A huge reason for the success of the Mumbai Indians has been their contingent of homegrown talent. Sharma, as well as Hardik Pandya and Jasprit Bumrah, have become stars of the national team since signing for the franchise.

Those players coming into the peak of their careers saw Mumbai win consecutive titles in 2019 and 2020. They failed to make the playoffs in either of the following seasons, but will be aiming for their sixth title in the 2023 edition. 

With four titles, the second-most successful franchise are the Chennai Super Kings.

CSK, led exclusively by MS Dhoni, first won the title in 2010, beating Mumbai in the final. They backed that up with a second win in two years in 2011, before lifting the trophy again in 2018.

Chennai finished seventh of eight in 2020, and many thought their ageing squad would struggle again in 2021, but they went on to win their fourth title.

The first ever champions

The winners of the first ever IPL were Rajasthan Royals, who won the competition under the stewardship of Australia legend Shane Warne in 2008.

The Royals were formidable that season, winning 11 of their 14 group games and both knock-out matches.

Rajasthan have failed to live up to those standards since, though. They have reached the playoffs in just four of the 12 subsequent campaigns, finishing in the bottom two on four occasions. They did, however, reach the final of the 2022 tournament, losing to the Gujarat Titans. 

Most victories in a row

By far the greatest sequence of consecutive wins in IPL history was recorded by Kolkata Knight Riders, who strung together 10 straight victories across the 2014 and 2015 seasons.

Nine of those 10 wins came in 2014, as the Knight Riders recovered from a run of two wins from their first nine to win all of their remaining matches and lift the title under Gautam Gambhir.

The stars of the team were batsman Robin Uthappa, who scored 660 runs in the competition, and West Indies spinner Sunil Narine, who took 21 wickets.

Biggest victories

Mumbai Indians also inflicted the biggest winning margin by runs in IPL history, beating Delhi Daredevils by 146 runs in 2017.

Mumbai scored 212-3 in their 20 overs, with Lendl Simmons and Kieron Pollard scoring 66 and 63 respectively.

Legendary spin bowler Harbhajan Singh took three wickets as Delhi were bowled out for 66.

By chasing a score of 68 in just 5.3 overs, the Indians have also recorded the most comfortable IPL victory in terms of balls remaining against Kolkata Knight Riders in 2008. Sanath Jayasuriya smashed 48* from 17 deliveries in that run chase.

There have been 15 10-wicket victories in the IPL, with Mumbai handing out two of them and being on the wrong end of three of them.

The teams that have never won the title

Arguably the greatest underachievers in IPL history are Royal Challengers Bangalore, who have never won the title, despite fielding some of the game’s greatest batsmen in Chris Gayle, AB De Villiers and Virat Kohli across multiple campaigns.

The other franchises involved in the 2023 competition to have never lifted the trophy arethe  Delhi Capitals (formerly Delhi Daredevils) and Punjab Kings (formerly Kings XI Punjab).

Visit Betway’s cricket betting page.