Football Football
Horse Racing Horse Racing
Cricket Cricket
Basketball Basketball
Golf Golf

IPL 2020 Season Review

From the Purple and Orange Cap winners to who hit the most sixes, our IPL 2020 review has everything you need to know about the tournament.

11 Nov | BY Guy Giles | MIN READ TIME |
IPL 2020 Season Review

Orange Cap winner – KL Rahul (Kings XI Punjab)

Kings XI Punjab skipper KL Rahul romped to his first Orange Cap with 670 runs in 14 matches at an average of 55.83.

The right-handed opener was brilliantly consistent throughout the tournament, compiling five half-centuries and one ton – an unbeaten 132 v Royal Challengers Bangalore, which is the highest score by an Indian player and by a captain in IPL history.

Rahul ended the tournament 52 runs ahead of his closest challenger – India teammate Shikhar Dhawan, who played three matches more than him.

Purple Cap winner – Kagiso Rabada (Delhi Capitals)

South Africa seamer Kagiso Rabada ended the tournament with the Purple Cap having claimed 30 wickets in his 17 matches for Delhi Capitals.

Rabada took at least one wicket in 14 of those 17 matches, including two four-wicket hauls and two three-wicket efforts.

He becomes the third Proteas player to win the award, following Morne Morkel in 2012 and Imran Tahir in 2019.

Most Valuable Player – Jofra Archer (Rajasthan Royals)

Despite Rajasthan Royals failing to make the playoffs, seamer Jofra Archer was named Most Valuable Player for the 2020 IPL.

His 20 wickets – 10 which came in the powerplay – alongside five catches and 10 sixes was enough to secure the award for the England international.

Archer regularly put the Royals in a position to win matches and ultimately to make the playoffs, but Rajasthan fell short yet again.   

Emerging Player Award – Devdutt Padikkal (Royal Challengers Bangalore)

It was another season of disappointment for the Royal Challengers Bangalore, but they did emerge with a star for the future in opening batsman Devdutt Padikkal.

The 19-year-old consistently delivered runs from the top of the order, far outperforming all of his opening partners.

Padikkal ended the tournament with 472 runs in 15 matches, including five half-centuries.

Most sixes – Ishan Kishan (Mumbai Indians)

Mumbai youngster Ishan Kishan really announced his talent to the world in this IPL, hitting 30 sixes to finish the tournament with the Unacademy Let’s Crack It Sixes Award.

Kishan was left out of Mumbai’s XI for their first two matches, but an innings of 99 in his first outing cemented his place for the remainder of the tournament.

That innings featured nine sixes alone, and Kishan kicked on to clear the ropes 30 times overall.

Most centuries – Shikhar Dhawan (Delhi Capitals)

Not only did Shikhar Dhawan end the tournament with the most centuries (two), but the Delhi opener also made history by hitting both back-to-back.

That was the first time a batsman has done so in IPL history, with Dhawan ending the tournament second in the runs table with 618.

Just three other players managed to reach triple figures in this edition of the IPL – KL Rahul, Mayank Agarwal and Ben Stokes.

Best catch – Jofra Archer (Rajasthan Royals)

As always, the standard of fielding was high in this edition of the IPL, with several blinding catches taken across the tournament.

The one that sticks in the mind most, though, is Jofra Archer’s effort on the boundary to dismiss Ishan Kishan.

The seamer seemed to misjudge the flight of the ball, coming in a few steps before backpedalling and taking a one-handed screamer above his head.

You can watch the catch in the video above, starting at 2:42, and check out where we ranked it in the best IPL catches of all time. 

Best captain – Shreyas Iyer (Delhi Capitals)

Although the Capitals fell short in the final, Shreyas Iyer is clearly a leader they can thrive under for years to come.

At just 25 years old, Iyer was the youngest skipper in the competition, but also the captain who performed most admirably.

He took Delhi to the first final in their history, and his half-century in Tuesday’s showpiece gave them a chance of winning the whole thing.

Visit Betway’s cricket betting page.


Guy Giles

Guy Giles